Never give up

globetrotter
There came a day in my life when I thought “that’s it”and I packed my stuff and went to the Caribbean to see what would happen, if you got nothing but a few bucks …
I experienced such a wonderful thing there … God’s gentle, loving care and protection, guiding me to kind people who took me in and gave me a new outlook on life: God does not condemn, He heals.

Today I felt like posting this specifically for all my followers – some of whom I had some great talks with.

Sometimes we, I, do feel like those lions in the picture below, which I took out of a moving vehicle at Kruger National Park. Going somewhere, but bothered by spectators, lonely in our feat to reach our destiny.

It’s time to jump of the main road and climb the mountain top.

Let no onlookers in their comfy vehicles of life judge you, but turn to God, the only one whose dreams for your life will even amaze you.

Fotoshoot 037

The Don’t Quit presentation is based on a famous poem which was written many years ago. The author of this poem is unknown. Sadly, in recent years a number of people have claimed ownership of the poem and some have even claimed to have written it themselves!

Here is the original poem in it’s entirety:

When things go wrong, as they sometimes will,
When the road you’re trudging seems all uphill,
When the funds are low and the debts are high,
And you want to smile, but you have to sigh,
When care is pressing you down a bit,
Rest, if you must, but don’t you quit.

Life is queer with its twists and turns,
As every one of us sometimes learns,
And many a failure turns about,
When he might have won had he stuck it out;
Don’t give up though the pace seems slow–
You may succeed with another blow.

Often the goal is nearer than,
It seems to a faint and faltering man,
Often the struggler has given up,
When he might have captured the victor’s cup,
And he learned too late when the night slipped down,
How close he was to the golden crown.

Success is failure turned inside out–
The silver tint of the clouds of doubt,
And you never can tell how close you are,
It may be near when it seems so far,
So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit–
It’s when things seem worst that you must not quit.

– Author unknown

11 thoughts on “Never give up”

  1. Hi, thanks for liking my post, and delighted to find a poem on here that I really like – so true that when things are darkest, light steps in 🙂

  2. Great article, written from the heart and through the eyes of experience. I thank God for your helping so many peoploe with this. This is exactly what we need more of!
    Pastor Jim Kilgore

    JimKilgoreMinistries.com

  3. Reblogged this on Grizz-Tion and commented:
    This relly hit me where I needed it today. I’ll keep on fighting through the pain. Wonderful message and poem here.

  4. That poem gets under my skin, and reading it today of all days has helpedme more than you can know.
    I’ve been down, almost to the point of giving up entirely, but it’s nice to find some sunshine when I need it.

    Thank you for posting this, and I’m happy I found it.
    I want to be a lion, climbing the hill, ignoring all the idiocy that brings us down.

    reblogged, thanks again for the beauty in the twilight of my day.

    1. Wow thanks for your encouraging words. Last night I was hit by a global wave of discouragement. I am saying global because i sensed that it was not just me personally who was affected by it. It felt that a lot of people I am connected to are struggling with similar feelings. Normally I would find it corny to try to be “inspirational” with a poem that’s just quoted. So i added a chunk of personal honesty and it really moves me that it seemed to hit a spot.
      When we are children, we feel like the world is made for us, ready for us to leave our mark. When we hit mid life, it feels like we are but a meaningless little gearwheel only wanted for our money. I hope we manage to rescue the revelations we had about life as children, and leave our mark of happiness on the globe. No, we wont give up! Take that, cynical critics!!!

      1. You are very welcome.
        I totally agree with you on the as we grow up, we seem to lose some of our wonder. Our self-meaning fades. We can only hop to rediscover is before we are too old to fully enjoy ourselves.

        It’s kind of funny, when we are young, we never want to sleep, always we think we are missing something. Then as we grow, we wish we had more time to sleep, and we actually do miss things. The irony of life I suppose.

        No, never will we give up, no matter how hard they push us down. Viva la Vida!!

  5. I be awaitin’ and surely am not quittin’ but my dear, stickin’ to a fight that;s unfairly fixed seems perverse in any universe.

    1. Thanks for your comment! I really appreciate your feedback. I can sure tell you about unequally fixed fights and the reason I posted this is that my life is complicated on so many levels. And still there is no reason to give up.
      I am living in Africa. I was not briefed on what was expected of me upon coming here, but I sure hear all about it when I not manage to live up to everyones expectations. In my line of work, a whole community looks to me to make the right decisions and organize things everyone benefits from. I often feel like breaking under the pressure and scrutiny, hence the lions followed by tourists. Daily i work with the underpriviledged who make mistakes because nobody cared to teach better ways, and the overpriviledged who are critical of minor things like nailpolish or exess weight. I deal with the hopeless and the entitled, and all are tugging on me. I find myself at the end of the day saying thanks for the running water in my tap, and the knowledge that over 85 percent of people have to carry their water home, humbles me. Adds pressure. Sometimes a smile costs so much. But to give up, would be to riducule those who defy hate by chosing to love even in impossible circumstances.

      1. Hi Bob, no intent to humble you! !thanks for reading and relpying!:-) just trying to say I am not a spoiled pricess sending lovely perfumed Hallmark cards out of an ivory tower of delicate bliss. I am a battle scared, down to earth mom who faces challenges daily, and I know what I am not. Out of this state of feet in the mud, I am trying to throw a rope to those of us who feel like they are sinking, although they have it in them to make a meaningful difference. Never, ever, give up!

I would really love some feedback from you!

