Bruno had a Birthday – the power of the trivial – throwing a bone.

P1010848
Meet Bruno!
P1010762
Yip, he used to even come with us to the office …
P1010851
About 2 weeks before the birth of my first child
P1010856
Bruno never tires.
P1010865
He can climb any obstacle with his little legs.
28062008(005)
Puppy ate too much.
bruno 018
Bruno as a puppy.

P1010858 P1010882 Photo-0004  bruno 046 Bruno is our dog. My first dog ever!

My husband, who worked as a cattle and ostrich farmer before, helped deliver this little puppy 5 years ago when he was stuck. Shy little thing. We decided to keep him and named him Bruno.

His mother was a very elegant Weimeraner and his dad a sneaky Dachshund/sidewalk-special who somehow made it into the mom’s yard …

So Bruno has got this elegant and sophisticated face, a beautiful brown coat and ridiculously short legs.

Me being German seems to have provided me with a hidden talent in dog-training. Bruno, my very first dog, house-trained quickly, had fun learning all the basic commands like shake, stay, down, roll-over, fetch etc etc and quite a number of party tricks as well. In my South African neighborhood that’s uncommon, dogs mainly serve to guard property.

Bruno enjoys walks with us, heels perfectly and even waits patiently without the need of a leash outside the neighborhoods grocer. He has become popular and well loved and would do so well at dog sports which we do not have here – he loves obstacles and takes them all in his stride.

Recently it was his 5th birthday. Our kids are very impressed that Bruno was here before them. I dare say, caring for Bruno as a little puppy maybe had a similar effect as adopting a child has for some couples who struggled to have kids – after 4 years trying to conceive, we fell pregnant and before Bruno’s 1st birthday, our first son arrived. A miracle baby, thanks to a lot of prayer and faith. But that’s a different story.

So we sang, like every year, happy birthday for him, presented him with an extra big chewing toy and a huge meat-cake and it was all great fun.

I hope you liked this post.

Really sweet posts like this one http://allaboutmanners.wordpress.com/2012/07/16/always-remember/ seem to get a lot, I mean a LOT of likes. Although it’s just one picture with a fluffy thought. So I thought, writing about little Bruno might delight my readers.

The title talks about throwing a bone too. I throw one for Bruno and he fetches it and has a lot of fun.

Last week the owners of a vine estate in Franschhoek refused to host a wedding for a gay couple.

It is against their religion.

There are many other beautiful wine farms offering venues for weddings. This couple, on their private estate, said their beliefs prohibit them from supporting the gay lifestyle. So they got taken to the Human Rights Court and criticized by the newspapers. Question: If I go to a professing Indian Hindu’s estate and demand of him to slaughter a cow for my festivity, is he allowed to deny it on account of his faith?  Would we do the same to a Muslim’s farm? Why doesn’t that Christian couple have the rights to quote their beliefs? Why must people be so aggressive about their sexual preferences, instead of granting people of a different conviction the so much cited tolerance as well?

Throwing you a bone – since I am not blogging anonymously it is probably better to stick to posts about puppies? All comments welcome!

16 thoughts on “Bruno had a Birthday – the power of the trivial – throwing a bone.”

  1. You’ve got a terrific blog and I sometimes wonder if people read through my posts as well. I have a photoblog so sometimes its short and sweet and other times I do write a bit of a narrative. I know that while I may not comment on every blog post (there’s just enough hours in the day I do try and read through them).Good test though and I did read the whole thing 🙂

    1. Hi, thanks for taking the time to comment and read! 🙂 Blogging is an adventure, for sure! I did the test also for myself. I struggle to keep posts short and entertaining. Maybe you like to read my newest, where me and my son get stuck in an angry, violent mob and the lady selling baby clothes explains me why she thinks its okay to burn people alive … And again I did not manage to keep it short. So I know its not fair towards the kind people who take time to read my thoughts. Life in South Africa is complicated. But whose isn’t. Let me go and check out your pictures!

    1. Hi, I didn’t even mean any “unmasking” – am just trying to find out how to blog the best. Obviously, long essays wont work for the broader “scan-the-headlines” audience. I guess a picture with a one-liner would be the way to go. But I am not clever enough to be that short …

  2. Hi, I almost missed the important bit at the end, because I normally skip the animal posts. Don’t know why I do it, maybe I should not! The matter of religion is such a touchy one. I look at it from the point of view that each is entitled to his own opinion. I have no right to demand something from someone when it goes against their beliefs and expect the same respect from them. If we had more mutual respect cross-race, cross-gender and cross-religion, a lot of the conflict in the world could be avoided.

  3. Your questions are circular, difficult to find an answer for, as it is hard to know your true question … What I will say is that people will do what they will, whether it is the gay couple, or the vineyard whose ‘faith’ (I’d call it religion, or better yet dogma) tells them otherwise. The problem the vintners have is that there are probably gays in their community who have to remain secret, and as to the gays who choose to ‘flaunt’ there sexual preference by a big ceremony, that is their right. The law cannot prescribe behavior as much as we would like to think it can, we are all ultimately answerable to the universal law, so tolerance, respect, understanding, truth are of great value.
    I’ll complete Aleister Crowley’s quote here ” … Love is the law, love under will”
    Hope all this has some meaning for you. Many blessings … And I love your pooch, what a classic combo !

    1. My question is simple. What happened: Gay couple wants to get married on the wine estate. Owner couple says sorry our religion does not condone it but there are countless other farms similar to ours in the neighborhood. Gay couple goes and drags them to Human Rights Court. They got to pay fee for denying them a human right. That is for me pure nonsense. I experience a lot of gays as very very aggressive that’s all. No and in Franschhoek in the South African Western Cape, no gay person has to hide. Cape town is like the worlds gay capital. That’s why I say please also protect those who do not feel comfortable with those sexual preferrences. Being gay is not ethnic or religion. Could somebody then take a Jewish Deli to Human Rights court if they don’t serve pork sausages? Eating is a human right?

      1. Maybe dare a real post on it, not a fluffy puppy thingy. Was an interesting experiment though. People definitely do not read through what they “like”.

      2. 🙂 Just having a little fun and trying to learn about how to best blog post to reach an audience …

      3. It is unjust the court fined the owners of the farm. As they proposed to the gay couple to go to an other farm they did not took any further non-human action.

        Everybody should have the right to exclude somebody of his premisses. The Gay couple should also understand that people should be free to ‘not accept’ people having a celebration at their premisses.

        You are totally right to say “Being gay is not ethnic or religion. Could somebody then take a Jewish Deli to Human Rights court if they don’t serve pork sausages? Eating is a human right? ” Looks like South Africa has given a precedent to bring such cases to the court.

      4. There have been a number of serious cases recently against religious organisations, none of them Muslim, none of them harming anybody. Somebody biased somewhere?

I would really love some feedback from you!

